But I thought the old lady dropped it into the ocean in the end

RMS Titanic departing Southampton on April 10,...

Image via Wikipedia

Here’s the situation. The New York Times is reporting that thousands of artifacts found in the watery wreckage of the Titanic will be up for grabs in a winner-take-all auction this April–a full century after the luxury liner sank to the bottom of the ocean. There are 5,500 different pieces, including salvaged bits of china, ship fittings and, wait for it, still-fragrant bottles of perfume.

The entire trove, being sold off by the New York auction house, Guernsey’s, is worth around $189 million. Which I obviously don’t have. But you know what I do have?

Undying passion. Mostly for Jack Dawson, who was the first man I ever loved. I begged my parents to let me see “Titanic” when I was in fourth grade and then I peeked during the naughty scenes and then I bought the little “heart of the ocean” knock-off necklace and pretended like Jack gave it to me after he ditched Rose on the lifeboat that magically appeared out of nowhere at the very last minute and saved everyone’s life. I wore it everywhere which probably wasn’t very cute, but hey, that’s love.

Anyway, they say scent triggers memory, and this sort of fascinates me.  The Associated Press writes that the doomed perfume bottles belonged to a manufacturer who planned on selling his samples once he landed in New York. I imagine the fragrances were intended for rich ladies with bustles and parasoles. They probably smelled like flowers and musk. I bet that’s what Rose was wearing when she met Jack by the clock at the top of the grand stair case before being whisked to steerage where she danced the night away with charming poor Irish people.

I’m getting carried away. Again.

NEVER LET GO.

Now watch this trailer and bawl your eyes out.

About Kathryn

Journalist, velvet enthusiast.
This entry was posted in On the telly and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

