I’mma let you finish but…

English: Kanye West at the Vanity Fair kickoff...

Image via Wikipedia

Kanye West did that thing again last night where he goes on Twitter and rants about his whole life. Except this time it lasted for two and half hours and touched on everything from fashion to his mom to grammar to education to music to George Bernard Shaw. Needless to say, it was sort of a train wreck, but in a weird, half-crazy, half-brilliant sort of way. It was kind of like reading a diary broken down into 87 paragraphs made up of 140 characters or less. And I couldn’t. Stop. Reading.

Yeezy apparently has quite a bit on his mind. Hypnotic stream-of-consciousness at its best, the rapper-turned-designer took to the social networking site around 11 p.m. Eastern Time to defend his debut collection (which received pretty awful reviews from NYFW critics), tell us his life story and muse about the meaning of life.

But why not let the man speak for himself? A few excerpts, if you missed out on all the fun:

I love being back at my fashion office learning and creating. It’s so challenging and fun and I’m surrounded by amazing people.

I did the first fashion show out of my own pocket and used the money I made touring to follow my passion. 

I’ve been working at this for 8 years now …from the first offers to do urban clothing lines that I turned down…

To begging Bape to do my line and never making any real headway…

To having an office in LA that was shut down after the “MTV” moment along with my tour with GAGA

I moved to Japan for one month after that and designed every night in my room… I had this opportunity to intern at Fendi and was also..

…offered a position to at Versace wich I could not take due to my contract with LV which was for 2 years…

I moved to Rome after I left Japan and worked at Fendi for 4 months under cover … I was there to give ideas for the men’s collection

I snuck to Giuseppe Zanotti Factory still under contract and learned to design woman’s shoes for 2 years before my first show in Paris

After doing the first LV collection I was sure I would get a second shot to create but was never given the opportunity

I designed a sneaker called the YEEZY with Nike. I’m “allowed” to design 1 pair of sneakers every 2 years. I have more ideas…

Early 2011 … I moved to Paris and opened a small design studio… the language barrier was quite difficult…

And a bit about being a mama’s boy:

I remember being 5 years old picking and my mother taking me with her shopping at the discount fur spots

She said I would always point to the most expensive furs even as a child LOL

It’s something about making clothing that always brings me back to that point. For the first 16 or 17 years of my life the only thing…

I knew about my woman’s clothing was what my Mom would wear. I guess some critics would joke that I still don’t know anything LOL

My Mom would wear blue jeans with a fur and an embellished “Cosby Show” sweater : ) to pick me up from school

And a few other miscellaneous gems:

….hmmmmm what to wear… here I go again… Yeezy the trend setter or complete fucking fashion victim … the verdict is still out

It’s something about coming from music that makes me so optimistic… Music travels and is not limited to only the wealthy.

Sometimes my grammar is wrong but my thinking is right : )

I know this is not a very rapper thing to say but I haven’t bought a new car or piece of jewelry in about 2 years…

So to recap: Kanye really loves his mom, even superstars have to start off as interns somewhere, expect to see a second collection, and rappers really love cars and jewelry.

Still feeling lost? Hit up Yeezy with questions yourself.

If anyone would like to reach out email us at contactDONDA@gmail.com

Read the whole mess here.

About Kathryn

Journalist, velvet enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

