Messy breakups and a trip to Ladurée

Dear Cupcake,

For a while, you were everything. Always there when I needed a pick-me-up. Never missed a birthday or holiday. Cute, in an overly frosted sort of way. But then you became clingy and too available, showing up at every bakery in Manhattan. Today, I’m calling it quits. There’s a new love in my life. One that’s sweet and doesn’t try so hard. One that’s bright and lively. One that delivers more happiness in a single flavor-packed bite than you ever did. I hate to dessert you this way, but my tastes have changed. And let’s be real. Ever since Ladurée opened on Madison and 71st St., you knew this day was coming.

It’s not you. It’s me.

The truth of the matter is, somewhere between work and play and everything else, my little bloggy blog had a birthday last week. She’s a whopping three months old, to be exact. And because macarons are currently the It Bag of desserts, it only made sense to celebrate by heading over to the world-famous Parisian macaron shop that conveniently opened its doors on the Upper East Side last fall. I’d heard horror stories about people standing three hours in line to hand over $2.70 for a cookie the size of a quarter, but then I remembered I’m an expert at standing in line. Let the party begin.

Oh, isn’t it positively decadent? Unable to choose just one, or two or even three of the dainty confections, I ended up ordering six: chocolat au lait, raspberry, lemon, pistachio, salted caramel and vanilla bean. As for the line? It didn’t exist. I got in, I got out, and I promptly headed over to Central Park to enjoy the unnaturally beautiful April weather we’re having (62 degrees!).

Slightly crunchy, extra rich, it’s everything you’ve been missing in life. So discard those unsightly cupcakes of yours, rattle your sugar tooth and head on over to Manhattan’s little slice of Paris to indulge in a sweet treat you can only just afford. I promise you, it’s worth it.

And should you be in the mood for some good old fashioned macaron history before you go, Miss Theadora of People, Places and Bling takes you straight to where it all began at Rue Bonaparte, where she serves up some delicious background. C’est magnifique!

About Kathryn

Journalist, velvet enthusiast.
This entry was posted in New York City and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Messy breakups and a trip to Ladurée

  1. Great post! What a sweet break-up letter! Poor little cupcake. Loved the tour. Pistachio recently stole my heart.The pics are fabulous, too. Macarons are the perfect portable snack. I agree! Bon Appétit! Theadora

Leave a Reply

