Jason Wu comes to Target, madness ensues, etc.

They say good things happen to those who wait. Unfortunately, those things do not include pieces from the Jason Wu for Target collection.

Oh, I tried to be excited about it. I really really did. I gushed over all those pictures that leaked on the Internet and watched that really cute commercial where that mischievous black cat scampers around the designer’s workspace. But when the time came for me to wake up at 5 a.m. and haul myself down to Brooklyn to wait in a line that started forming around 6 a.m., I just couldn’t do it. When I did finally make my way over to the Atlantic Avenue store at 11:30, the crowd was still going strong. The ravaged remains of the collection, however? Not so much.

A few lonely dresses hung sort of dejectedly, though the ones that really mattered were completely gone. There were also plenty of t-shirts and weird polyester-y blouses with neck ties, along with a few oversized cardigans that were cute, albeit huge. In fact, there was not a size small to be found in the entire store, save one rather sad little tee, and mediums were almost just as hard to come by.

As for purses, some hassled looking Target employees were restocking the accessories table when I arrived, but quickly ended up ducking for cover after a mob of shopping carts swooped in 20 seconds later and obliterated everything.

It was sort of hilarious. Designer collaborations really bring out the best in people.

I tried on a few things a few sizes too big just to say I participated and then went upstairs to the Valentine’s Day aisle to load up on pink and red M&Ms to keep me busy until the Madonna half-time show tonight.

I did happen to overhear an employee tell one particularly frantic customer that while sadly, the store doesn’t expect anymore shipments of items from the collection, she might be able to check in next week and ransack the returns rack in hopes of finding what she missed out on. Rumor has it there are also still a select few items available online, but that was like, half an hour ago, so who can really say?

To be honest, I was a little disappointed with what I did see still hanging. Granted, the cream of the crop was swept up hours before I got there, but the fabrics and fits I saw looked plain and not worth the trouble. However, had I been able to get my hands on one of those little striped shift dresses that everyone was going crazy over, who knows how things could have been different.

How’d everyone else fare today? Would love to hear your battle stories! Any Wu-hoo moments?

**UPDATE: My friend Chanell traipsed up to the store in Harlem this morning and made away with the covetable pink striped dress that I’ll probably end up paying $200 for on eBay. Read about her completely different experience here!

About Kathryn

Journalist, velvet enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Designers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jason Wu comes to Target, madness ensues, etc.

  1. Melissa says:

    My store was pretty calm, with no frenzied behavior. Lots of fitting room go-backs, though. I made out with the items I wanted, which was worth it to get there early for me. Wrote about my shopping experience with some tips on my blog. It seems that they’ll be restocking online soon, and there will likely be returns as well. I guess my woo-hoo moment would be getting the cat print bag and being interviewed by the local paper. That was fun 🙂

    • Kathryn says:

      Lucky you!! Loved the cat tote. I wanted the cat scarf but alas, it was nowhere to be found. Day late, dollar short, I suppose. Hopefully it’s one of the items they restock!

  2. I have to say that I wasn’t so excited for this line, like I was with Missoni. I did, however, have my eye on the yellow/teal circle dress with the pearl neckline. I snagged it online the day they launched so I didn’t have to hit a store. I was lucky with Missoni and got the cardi I had my eyes on as well but no way am I fighting with people at the store level. Had I been at that Miami Target where that couple basically scooped up almost everything and then told shoppers they could buy it off them in the parking lot? Oh man, words would have been spoken and people’s feelings would have been hurt.

    • Kathryn says:

      Oh man! I tried that dress on but it didn’t fit. Very cute! I was excited for Missoni, though mostly because I thought the home stuff was too too good. But alas, there was no scooping to be had for me then either. Apparently designer collabs aren’t really my forte.

  3. green smoke says:

    I did not try Green Smoke due to the price. I cannot afford that.

Leave a Reply

