Trend alert: Don’t let anyone see your face

Paris Fashion Week is in full swing and it’s been smokin’ hot (no seriously, there were actually flames). But in case those Balenciaga space sweaters or Fabergé eggs aren’t really your thing, here’s a trend you can easily pull off by piling on everything you own at once and calling it a day:

In fact, this is a look by A.F. Vandevorst that you can probably recreate pretty easily with stuff you already have! Hat? Check. Overwhelmingly huge circle scarf? Check. Trench coat? Check. Single glove? Check!! The key is to make sure that absolutely NO part of your face is showing at any time…or any part of your body for that matter. Blindly feeling your way down the street is really the only way to go this season.

Here’s what I don’t get. In theory, these pieces are all super wearable. Who doesn’t love to bundle up in warm chunky knits and riding boots? The fur scarves are beautiful, and the hats, while a bit cliche, do add some polish. So why, WHY, did the Belgian design duo An Vandevorst and Filip Arickx go ruin everything with crazy styling? I mean, sure, fashion shows are meant to be fun and create buzz, but they’re also supposed to show….fashion. As in things people actually want to wear. Gimmicks are cool and all, but at the end of the day what are you selling?

[images via The Cut]

About Kathryn

Journalist, velvet enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Fashion Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trend alert: Don’t let anyone see your face

  1. runway style is always different from how pieces are meant to be worn off the runway. I agree that it’s completely bazaar, but I rather like it. I think covering the models faces puts all the focus on the clothes, rather than the model wearing the clothes.

    It could just be the hats giving this vibe, but I also like the film noir meets sci-fi action feeling that is exuded from the different looks.

    • Kathryn says:

      Oh, that’s a good point. Models with clown makeup are even worse. I actually liked the clothes in this collection…I just had to stop laughing to realize it.

      • I didn’t so much laugh as I made a weird face followed by a “what the….” and then I looked at the clothes and loved them! I really like the top row that you have posted, I want both of those coats!

  2. yes. I often wonder but like you said: they are actually trying to sell fashion. In this particular case, I guess the message is: you don’t need a personality to wear our clothes. No, kidding. I don’t know. I guess the faceless models are placeholders for “insert my face” or something.

    But it kind of backfired I think. The individual pieces are definitely awesome; the mummy in a scarf look is too much of a distraction though.

Leave a Reply

