Five reasons why I’m kind of addicted to Burt’s Bees

I was digging around in my purse yesterday after brunch, getting ready to pay my part of the check when I froze, panic flooding through me. It was gone. I furiously took out my keys, metro card, wallet and phone, frantically searching for the one thing I make sure to never ever leave home without: my Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm.

Soothing. Cooling. Refreshing, 100% natural. There’s a lot of love packed into that little golden tube. I’ve been slightly addicted for several years now, going so far as to keep one in every purse I own in case I ever come across a situation where my lips are dry and cracked and hurty and in need of instant conditioning. So when I realized today I may have lost a Burt’s along the way, I instantly headed over to the drugstore to restock.

The truth is, my lip balm is more than just a preventative measure against chapped lips–it’s my secret weapon. Not only have I come to rely upon it to gloss over cracks, it’s also become my go-to moisturizer, breath mint and manicurist. Seriously. It’s the world’s most magical beauty tool. Here’s proof:

  • Sure, dry lips are the worst, but so is dry anything. Lip balm works to soften up rough elbows and knees too! And the beeswax doesn’t leave behind any sticky residue.
  • My cuticles are still probably the ugliest things you will ever see in your life (I pick when I’m nervous), but they would be in even rougher shape if I didn’t moisturize from time to time. I find my Burt’s Bees works especially well as a cuticle cream, helping me to whip them back into shape after a particularly brutal bout with anxiety.
  • It keeps your makeup on! I use it to seal my lipstick in place. It keeps the color even and prevents it from fading quite so fast. A few dabs on your eyelids will also keep your eyeshadow from creasing.
  • A swipe of Burt’s Bees peppermint lip balm leaves you feeling like you just brushed your teeth. It leaves your breath fresh and minty!
  • It keeps stray hairs in place! All those little ponytail flyaways near your temples seriously don’t stand a chance. It’s like a glue stick for your hair kind of. Is that gross?

So hey, thanks Burt! You’re pretty much my best friend. See? All smiles!

What are some of your favorite products out there?

About Kathryn

Journalist, velvet enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Things I want and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five reasons why I’m kind of addicted to Burt’s Bees

  1. Tanya says:

    Oooh these are useful stuff. I didn’t know you can use lip balm for all of that! 🙂 Awesome tips!

    Tanya
    http://tardydresser.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

